The History of Norfolk Bowling Club

The Bowling Club opened the first outdoor green in 1922 with a delightful thatched pavilion as its clubhouse. This pavilion is still in use, having been re-thatched in the 1990's and again in 2012.

The History of Norfolk Bowling ClubThe members decided at that time they wished to play the EBA game, but the nearest league was in Essex. The Club therefore joined the Essex County Association and were known as the Norfolk County Club. The club joined the Norfolk Association when this was formed in 1937, and then became the Norfolk Bowling Club. Soon after a second outdoor green was laid down.

During the 1960's there was great interest in playing the game of bowls indoors. The club therefore built a new indoor clubhouse and six rinks, which was opened in 1968. This was on the site of allotments adjoining the outdoor greens, which the club already owned!

This proved a most popular decision and the rinks were soon fully booked on a very regular basis, with both leagues and social bowling. Later a seventh rink was created.

In 1994 a new laser levelled floor was laid with a Greenguage carpet and underlay and this transformed the speed of the green.The History of Norfolk Bowling Club

In 1995 the decision was taken to merge the outdoor and indoor sections to form the Norfolk Bowling Club with one annual subscription.

The indoor clubhouse has had several structural improvements over the years and now boasts a fine viewing area for the seven rinks in use. A new carpet and underlay was laid down by Dales Sports Surfaces Ltd in 2011 and is now producing a first class playing surface.

The Club has excellent facilities, with first class greens and is in a delightful setting.